Bacchus Marsh Heritage Trail
First settled in 1836 during the Ballarat gold rush, Bacchus Marsh has a rich history of farming, transport, rail technology and geological significance. Many historic buildings remain in place and visitors and history buffs are sure to enjoy the many stories on offer along the Bacchus Marsh Heritage Trail.
Highlights include the Avenue of Honour which commemorates those who served in World War 1, the Bacchus Marsh Courthouse established 1858, a Railway Turntable mid-1950s, and Station built in 1887 and The Chicory Kiln, built in 1885 to dry, grind and roast local chicory to sell in ‘Dr Morse’s Indian Root Pills.’
Other local sites of significance include:
- Border Inn (1851)
- Simon’s Garage
- Courthouse Hotel (1864)
- The Express Office Printing Works (1866)
- St Andrew’s Uniting Church (1865)
- Holy Trinity Anglican Church (1877)
- St Bernard’s School and Convent of St Joseph (1900)
- Blacksmith’s Shop and Cottage (1851)
- The Manor House (1852)
Click here to download your copy of the Bacchus Marsh Heritage Trail(PDF, 620KB) or drop in to the Bacchus Marsh Visitor Information Centre, 215 Main Street, Bacchus Marsh.
Bacchus Marsh Heritage Trail,
Bacchus Marsh VIC 3340