Councillors are our community leaders. They advocate in the interests of the Shire and make important decisions on your behalf. 

What does a Councillor do?

  • Councillors are our community leaders elected to form a Council
  • They provide vision and strategic direction
  • They make policy decisions on behalf of the whole community
  • Their time may be split between family and work commitments whilst performing specific Council duties
  • This could include community involvement, advocacy, and decision making at Council forums and meetings
  • The role and powers of a Council are set out under sections 8-11 of the Local Government Act 2020

Moorabool Shire's Wards

Wards are the electorates a Councillor represents. Moorabool Shire consists of one four-Councillor ward and three single-Councillor wards.

Find out what ward you live in and who your Councillors are.

The division is:

  • East Moorabool Ward - 4 Councillors
  • Central Moorabool Ward - 1 Councillor
  • West Moorabool Ward - 1 Councillor
  • Woodlands Ward - 1 Councillor


Code of Conduct

The Councillor Code of Conduct(DOCX, 116KB) was adopted by resolution of Council on 24 February 2021 in accordance with section 139 of the Local Government Act 2020.

The Code of Conduct is established as part of Council's commitment to govern Moorabool Shire effectively and adhering to the principles of good governance.

All Councillors are committed to:

  • Acting with integrity; and
  • Impartially exercising his or her responsibilities in the interests of the local community; and
  • Not improperly seeking to confer an advantage or disadvantage on any person.

Mayoral Elections

Following Council elections, it is the responsibility of the newly elected Councillors to elect one Councillor as Mayor. The Mayoral term may be for 12 or 24 months pending a decision of Council. The elected Mayor may either be re-elected for another 12-month term or Councillors may elect another Councillor as Mayor. The Mayoral election is conducted at a Statutory and Annual Appointments Meeting in early November. A Deputy Mayor may also be appointed.

2024 Councillor and ward changes

The Victorian Government has announced Council will move to an unsubdivided structure represented by nine Councillors at the 2024 local government elections. For more information, visit Electoral structure and ward boundary reviews (