Bacchus Marsh Heritage Trail

Bacchus Marsh Heritage Trail - Chicory Kiln

First settled in 1836 during the Ballarat gold rush, Bacchus Marsh has a rich history of farming, transport, rail technology and geological significance. Many historic buildings remain in place and visitors and history buffs are sure to enjoy the many stories on offer along the Bacchus Marsh Heritage Trail.

Highlights include the Avenue of Honour which commemorates those who served in World War 1, the Bacchus Marsh Courthouse established 1858, a Railway Turntable mid-1950s, and Station built in 1887 and The Chicory Kiln, built in 1885 to dry, grind and roast local chicory to sell in ‘Dr Morse’s Indian Root Pills.’

Other local sites of significance include:

  • Border Inn (1851)
  • Simon’s Garage
  • Courthouse Hotel (1864)
  • The Express Office Printing Works (1866)
  • St Andrew’s Uniting Church (1865)
  • Holy Trinity Anglican Church (1877)
  • St Bernard’s School and Convent of St Joseph (1900)
  • Blacksmith’s Shop and Cottage (1851)
  • The Manor House (1852)

Click here to download the Bacchus Marsh Heritage Trail map(PDF, 3MB) , or drop in to the Bacchus Marsh Visitor Information Centre at 215 Main Street, Bacchus Marsh, to collect a hard copy version.