About 38,000 residents call Moorabool home. Moorabool features 19 localities, the main township is Bacchus Marsh, (59kms west of Melbourne CBD) with a smaller township at Ballan (59km West of Melbourne CBD). The Shire includes other small towns, including Balliang, Balliang East, Barkstead, Blackwood, Bungaree, Clarendon, Dales Creek, Dunnstown, Elaine, Gordon, Greendale, Korweinguboora, Lal Lal, Mount Egerton, Myrniong, Wallace and Yendon. 


Bacchus Marsh  

The Bacchus Activity Centre features The Village Shopping Centre and Western Health Bacchus Marsh Hospital. Main Street features boutique shops, cafes, restaurants and heritage listed buildings. The Bacchus Marsh Visitor Centre, Lederberg Library and Bacchus Marsh Public Hall can also be found along Main Street.  

Bacchus Marsh and nearby Maddingley are home to a number of industrial clusters along Griffith Street, Hillside Street, Kennedy Place, Osbourne Street, Smith Street, Frisken Street, Park Street and Station Street.


Inglis Street in Ballan features boutique shops, cafes, restaurants and heritage listed buildings with country charm, the Mechanics Institute Reserve & Ballan Community House. Haddon Drive and Gillispie Lane comprise the industrial sector of the town.

Check out the business directory to find out more about businesses in the shire here

For more information on the Moorabool Shire profile: Moorabool Economic Profile.