Moorabool Young Writers Awards 2023


Young Writers in focus in 2023

Moorabool Shire Libraries and local writers Jem Tyley-Miller and Wayne Marshall are proud to announce the fifth annual Moorabool Young Writers’ Awards.  These awards aim to promote a love of writing in the shire, and will recognise the finest young writers in the district. The competition will be open from March 13 to April 28 with winners announced on June 3 at an afternoon tea held in conjunction with the Peter Carey Short Story Award. 


Primary School Theme: The Photo

Entrants must mention "photo” or “photograph” somewhere in their story. They may write about the/a photo” or “photograph” as much as they like. 

Secondary School: Camera

Secondary school applicants must be in Years 7 to 12 and must include a “camera” or reference to the idea of a camera somewhere in their story


Categories and Prizes

Four lucky winners (selected at random) will win a book pack for themselves and a book pack for their classroom. 

Emergent Writers Awards: (Must be in Grades Prep, 1 or 2) 

Complete the picture prompt.

Four lucky winners (selected at random) will receive a Picture book pack for themselves and a Picture book pack for their classroom (including 1 x CBCA 2023 book week nominee) (Valued at $50 each).

Download Picture Prompt entry form here.(PDF, 412KB)


Stories will be judged in three categories and are open to all those who meet the age requirements, AND who work, live, or study in Moorabool Shire. Both a winner and a runner-up will be awarded for each category 

1. Middle Primary Awards (Grade 3 and 4)

Short Stories up to 1000 words     Winner: $100            Runner-up: $50  

2. Upper Primary Awards (Grades 5 and 6)

Short Stories up to 1000 words     Winner: $100            Runner-up: $50  

3. Secondary Awards (Years 7 to 12, or under 18)

Short Stories up to 3000 words     Winner: $200            Runner-up: $100  

Moorabool Primary School Prize:  

  • Two local Moorabool Primary schools (based on number of entries v pro-rata number of students) will win an Author Talk. (Valued up to $1000, this workshop will take place in March 2024)



Submissions close on Friday 28 April at 11.59pm and will be accepted in person at Ballan Library, Lerderderg Library, the Rural Library Van or online via the Moorabool Shire Council website. Entries must be typed and will be judged blind, so please, no names on your work—just be sure to attach the entry form provided.  Each child may enter one story and entry is free.  

All winning stories will be displayed in the Lerderderg Library in Bacchus Marsh. 

—Jem Tyley-Miller and Wayne Marshall in partnership with Moorabool Shire Libraries 

Please note: The link to enter these awards online will go live on Monday 13 March 2023.

2023 MYWA Terms and Conditions(PDF, 150KB)

About the 2023 MYWA Judge

WYWAJudge.jpgAllyse Near is, like Peter Carey was, a Bacchus Marsh local. Allyse’s debut novel ‘Fairytales for Wilde Girls’ won best Horror and Best Young Adult Novel at the Aurealis Awards and was Honour Book of the Year at the CBCA Awards. She was also shortlisted for the Norma K Hemming and Inky Awards. And won Deakin University’s inaugural Judith Rodriguez Prize for Fiction. Citing Neil Gaiman, Angela Carter, Francesca Lia Block and the Brothers Grim as some of her biggest influences.