Peter Carey Short Story Award

Primary tabs

Share Tweet Print More Options

Event Date(s) and Time(s)

Sunday, 19 February, 2017 - 22:00


Event Type: 


Moorabool Shire Libraries
Bacchus Marsh and Ballan VIC 3340

Contact Details

Event Organising Body: 
Moorabool Shire Libraries
Event Organiser: 
Moorabool Shire Libraries
Phone Number: 


Event Fees: 
$10 per entry


Peter Carey.png

2017 Peter Carey Short Story Award Winners

The winners of the inaugural Peter Carey Short Story Award were announced at the close of the Moorabool Festival of Stories on Saturday 20 May, by Alexis Drevikovsky of Writers Victoria.

From a shortlist of 16, judge Ryan O’Neill selected two outstanding entries as his winner and runner-up. It is our great pleasure to announce that the winning story is ‘Carrier’ by Cameron Weston. Catherine Padmore’s ‘To whom it may concern’ is our runner-up. Both stories have been published in a special Peter Carey Short Story Award issue of Review of Australian Fiction, which can be purchased here: 

We’d also like to take this opportunity to thank those who made the staging of the award possible. Thanks to Ryan O’Neill, our judge, for his support and generosity. Thanks also to Laurie Steed and Tru Dowling, our shortlisting readers. Without their guidance and professionalism under tight deadlines, we wouldn’t have come close to realising the dream of running a successful national short story competition. Thanks also to Matthew Lamb of Review of Australian Fiction, who we were blessed to have on board. And of course we’d also like to thank Peter Carey, not only for entrusting us with an award named in his honour, but also for the stories, and for his short stories in particular. One needs only to read Ryan O’Neill’s judge’s report to understand the profound effect Peter’s short fiction continues to have on Australia’s finest short story writers.

Lastly, to all those who entered the award, and to everyone who came to the Moorabool Festival of Stories on the weekend: we say a massive thank you! Until next year…

—Moorabool Festival of Stories

2017 Peter Carey Short Story Award Shortlist

After a large number of high calibre entries from around Australia, we are thrilled to announce our inaugural shortlist.  Selecting from the 252 entries was difficult, and as such our shortlist is rather long. But we thought every one of these stories deserved a place.

Congratulations to the following sixteen writers and their stories:

Ivan Bucalo There Be Dragons
Cassie Hamer Laika
Keren Heenan Black As
Katheryn Hind Iced Tea
Susan Hurley Death of an Impala
Kerrin O’Sullivan The Fall of Saigon
Catherine Padmore To whom it may concern
Spence Powell January 2003
Erin Ritchie Noodle
James Robertson-Hirst The Anti Novelists
Kit Scriven All the Dead Pixies
Rebecca Slater The Bathers
Hannah Van Didden Gerald Bantam Says Goodbye
Siall Waterbright Brilliance
Cameron Weston Carrier
Kate Zahnleiter Turritopsis Dohrnii



Ryan and Revew logo.png

Get Directions

Last Updated:

Tuesday, 31 January, 2017 - 14:34