Moorabool Young Writers’ Award

Primary tabs

Share Tweet Print More Options

Event Date(s) and Time(s)

Wednesday, 14 March, 2018 - 21:30


Event Type: 


Moorabool Shire
Moorabool VIC 3340

Contact Details

Event Organising Body: 
Moorabool Shire Libraries
Event Organiser: 
Moorabool Shire Libraries


Event Fees: 


Moorabool Shire Libraries and Moorabool Writers Craft are proud to announce the inaugural Moorabool Young Writers’ Awards. These awards aim to promote a love of writing in the Shire, and will recognise the finest young writers in the district. The competition will be open from 15 March to 20 April 2018, with winners announced on 2 June at an afternoon tea held in conjunction with the Peter Carey Short Story Award.

Stories will be judged in three categories and are open to all those who meet the age requirements, AND who work, live, or study in Moorabool Shire. Both a winner and a runner-up will be awarded for each category.


1. Junior Awards (grade 3 and under) Short Stories up to 1000 words

Winner: $50         Runner- up: $25 Bookstore Voucher

2. Intermediate Awards (grades 4-6) Short Stories up to 1000 words

Winner: $50         Runner-up: $25 Bookstore Voucher

3. Youth Awards (under 18 years) Short Stories up to 3000 words

Winner: $250       Runner-up: $100 Bookstore Voucher

Entries will be judged by Bacchus Marsh’s own Allyse Near, author of Fairytales for Wilde Girls. Allyse’s debut novel won Best Horror and Best Young Adult Novel at the Aurealis Awards, and Honour Book of the Year at the CBCA Awards. She was also shortlisted for the Norma K Hemming and Inky Awards.

All winning stories will be displayed in the Lerderderg Library in Bacchus Marsh. Submissions close Sunday 15 April, 2018 and will be accepted via email  or hand delivered to the Lerderderg Library in Bacchus Marsh or Ballan Library. Entries must be typed and will be judged blind, so please, no names on your work - just be sure to attach the entry form. Each child may enter one story and entry is free. Please see Terms & Conditions and for further details please telephone 5366 7100 or email

Good luck. Get writing and we can’t wait to read your stories.

—Moorabool Shire Libraries along with local writers Jem Tyley-Miller and Wayne Marshall


Allyse Near

Get Directions

Last Updated:

Tuesday, 19 December, 2017 - 10:20