Moorabool Young Writers Awards 2022

2022 Moorabool Young Writers Awards Announcement Updated 6 June 2022

On Saturday 4 June 2022, after the most competitive year yet with a field of 735 entries, we had the opportunity to discover the many stories, worlds and characters the students of Moorabool found behind The Door.  

Our 2022 judge Allyse Near announced her selections as follows:

Early Years Primary Awards

Nyah Halfhide

Aydin Wright

Silas Olthof

Eykas Singh Khaira

Loki De Domenico

Jackson Thurgood

Marcus Speakman


Middle Primary Awards (Grade 3 and 4)

Winner: Sing by Matilda Marshall 
Runner Up:  The Door by Kumayl Rizvi
Third place:  The Door by Meg Conroy 


Honourable mention                                

The thing by Esther Seketa                                                                                

Encouragement Awards                                                

Izzy & Aurora by Mia Apostolidis

Gummy bear World by Bobbie Blanch

An elf tree house by Madison Bauman

The door in the tree by Scarlett Wake

The portal doors by Imogen Borg

Pixie Dust by Ivy Tyley-Miller

Lilly and the magic door by Charlee Hunter

Upper Primary Awards (Grades 5 and 6)

Winner: The Rock Pigeon Gang strikes back by Noah Barlow
Runner Up:  Wanderlust's Door by Purva Amin
Third Place:  Sin of Wrath by Logan Jarvis 


Honourable mention                                                    

Dream of the Beyond by Brooke Lamberton

Every door by Sophia Morataya

An Archers Tale by Matilda Connell

Encouragement Award                                                 

The Mysterious door on the Tree by Ben Maddern

The treehouse door by Ella Teuma

House of Doors by Carmen Moreno

Lower Secondary Awards (Years 7 to 9)

Winner: Something wicked this way comes by Tyler Hounsell-Bachelor
Runner Up:  Devin's Door by Blayk Maree Kawana
Third Place:  The Door by Alisha Rizvi


Honourable mention                                                     

The Untold by Riannon Griffith

Upper Secondary Awards (Years 10 to 12, or under 18)

Winner: Perfect Stranger by Matthew Michalik
Runner Up In Another Life by Mackenzie Stark


Congratulations to this years winners and thank you to each and every student and their supporting schools for entering the 2022 Moorabool Young Writers Awards.

It's safe to say that creativity and imagination are thriving in the classrooms of Moorabool!

~ Moorabool Young Writers Organising Committee and Moorabool Libraries

About the 2022 MYWA Judge:

Allyse Near is, like Peter Carey was, a Bacchus Marsh local. Allyse’s debut novel ‘Fairytales for Wilde Girls’ won best Horror and Best Young Adult Novel at the Aurealis Awards and was Honour Book of the Year at the CBCA Awards. She was also shortlisted for the Norma K Hemming and Inky Awards. And won Deakin University’s inaugural Judith Rodriguez Prize for Fiction. Citing Neil Gaiman, Angela Carter, Francesca Lia Block and the Brothers Grim as some of her biggest influences.